Surrey Civic Design Awards

August 24, 2011 at 12:19 pm Leave a comment

 Trevor Boddy draws particular attention to this:

Starting in 2011, and to be presented every two years, the NewCity Design Awards will recognize Surrey’s most significant accomplishments in city-building: architecture, landscape, urban design and infrastructure. 

The awards will be decided by an independent jury, who will assign at least one “Award of Excellence” and optional “Awards of Merit” in each of the NewCity’s eight categories. Anyone can suggest a worthy project through the easy to use “make a nomination” button below. Actual submission packages will be submitted by the design/development team for each project. Complete details and entry forms are available by clicking the “submit an entry” button below.

Key Dates

  • June 29, 2011: Call for nominations/submissions opens
  • September 9, 2011: Call for submissions close
  • October 25, 2011: Awards reception and celebration, hosted by Mayor Dianne Watts

Award Categories

The independent jury will designate at least one  “Award of Excellence” as well as some optional “Awards of Merit” for each of the following categories, recognizing either their individual architectural excellence, their superior definition and enhancement of the public realm (urban design), or both:

1.  Residential (Small Scale)
     Single family, coach house, duplex and ground-oriented townhouse developments may be
     considered. Projects in this category may be chosen on the basis of the architectural excellence of
     single units and/or the urban design elegance of their assembly into compact developments.

2.  Residential (Medium Scale)
     Apartment building and stacked townhouse complexes of up to six stories may be considered.

3.  Residential (Large Scale)
     Apartment buildings of 7 stories and higher, and large mixed use projects containing more than 50%
     residential usages may be considered.

4.  Commercial
     Industrial, office, warehouse, retail and related uses of any size or height.  Mixed use projects
     containing less than 50% residential usages may be considered.

5.  Government and Institutional 
     Projects for any level of government, public agency, educational or health authority, or Crown 
     Corporation. This includes community and health centres, schools and colleges, civic buildings, Crown
     agency facilities, religious buildings, etc.

6.  Landscape, Public Space and Infrastructure
     Public and publicly-accessible open space of any kind, whether stand alone or a component of a larger
     development (e.g. park, plaza, amenity area, courtyard, atrium, etc.)  Recognition may be given for any
     aspect of urban infrastructure (bridges, greenways, street furniture , way-finding signage, etc.), or
     landscape design, whether soft (natural), hard (constructed), or any combination thereof.

7.  Renovation and Adaptive Re-Use
     The interior or exterior renovation of a structure at least 25 years old, recognizing either the 
     conservation of character elements, the design innovation of new components, or both.

8.  Interiors
     For any size or type of building, the design innovation and functionality of newly completed non-
     residential interior spaces, provided there is at least occasional public access.

Eligibility and Nominations

Projects must have been completed within the municipal boundaries of Surrey after January 1, 2001. Any resident of Surrey may suggest a building or urban space for consideration, with the simple nomination form below. The full award submission can come from any member of the development team (owner, developer, designer, contractor, etc.), but it is expected that the project’s designers will prepare the final submission package.  Because the awards are independently judged, the City of Surrey may nominate projects, and the granting of awards will not benefit pending or future land use applications by entrants.

Anyone Can Nominate a Worthy Project

Any Surrey resident or business owner can suggest a project they think should be considered for a NewCity Award.  To do so, click the ‘make a nomination’ button below.  City staff will then contact the project’s design and development team and encourage them to make a submission. 


Any Member of the Project Team can Submit an Entry

To aid our independent jury in their selection of the best examples of Surrey’s city-building, graphic and written documentation of submitted schemes is required. These requirements differ slightly for each category.  Entries can come from any member of the project team, regardless of their place of residence or business.  If a submission package is entered by the development team, it is not necessary to also submit a nomination form.

Selection and Recognition

All submissions will be evaluated by a distinguished external jury of city-building professionals.  The jury will devote two full days to judging: the first to review all submissions received, and the second touring Surrey to visit the short listed projects considered for awards.  Jury comments on the awards-winners will be archived on the website, as will all finalist schemes.  Recipients of the 2011 NewCity Design Awards will be recognized by Mayor and Council on October 25, 2011 during the City Awards reception.  


Any Additional Questions?



Phone: 604.591.4772


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Surrey Transportation Lecture Program – Register now SFU City Program Fall Schedule

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

%d bloggers like this: